Welcome to the IMSA History unofficial website

This site is aimed at bringing you memories from the glory days of sportscar racing in the US.



 1 99 EAGLE MKIII Toyota Juan Fangio II 63 Laps 1.GTP
 2 98 EAGLE MKIII Toyota P.J Jones 63 Laps 2.GTP
 3 83 NISSAN NPT91C Geoff Brabham 62 Laps 3.GTP
 4 77 MAZDA RX792P 001 Price Cobb 62 Laps 4.GTP
 5 78 MAZDA RX792P 002 Pete Halsmer 61 Laps 5.GTP
 6 30 PORSCHE 962C 011 Gianpiero Moretti-John Paul Jr 61 Laps 6.GTP
 7  7 PORSCHE 962C 016 Oscar Larrauri-John Winter 61 Laps 7.GTP
 8 45 KUDZU DG2 Buick Charles Morgan-Tommy Riggins 56 Laps 1.Lights
 9 63 KUDZU DG2 Buick 003 Jim Downing-Tim McAdam 55 Laps 2.Lights
10 44 KUDZU DG2 Buick Firmin Velez-Andy Evans 55 Laps 3.Lights
11  9 SPICE SE87L Buick SE87L-003 Tom Hessert-Bob Schader 55 Laps 4.Lights
12 36 KUDZU DG1 Mazda 001 John Grooms-Frank Jellinek 50 Laps 5.Lights
13 49 SPICE SE91P Acura Parker Johnstone-Dan Marvin 38 Laps 6.Lights
14 48 SPICE SE91P Acura Ruggero Melgrati-Wayne Taylor 33 Laps 7.Lights
15 12 INTREPID RM1 Chevrolet 004 Tom Kendall 7 Laps 8.GTP

Cars that did not start

    2 JAGUAR XJR14 591 Davy Jones GTP

Toyota all the way

A moderate crowd of 20000 would attend the Road America event, which would take place under a fine weather. The race would showcase a battle between Toyota and Jaguar. The former fielded a pair of Eagle MKIII machines, driven by Juan Fangio and PJ Jones. The cars were now as fast as reliable, and they were dominating the championship. Jaguar was trying to counteract with a brand new car, the XJR14, which was driven by Davy Jones. Those cars were powered by a 3.5L Ford HB F1 engine, and also very neat and fast. Nissan was also playing his part, with two Nissan NPT91s entered. Geoff Brabham and Chip Robinson were having a tough year, though, as the cars were showing their limits with never cars. Mazda was trying to be up to the task, with two RX792Ps, driven by Price Cobb and Pete Halsmer. The remainder of the GTP field consisted of Porsche 962s, with the Joest and Moretti entries. The Lights field was very weak, with Ruggero Melgrati and Parker Johnstone driving a Spice SE90P Acura. They would be challenged by thé Kudzu DG1 Buick driven by Firmin Velez-Andy Evans and Charles Morgan-Tommy Riggins. Another Kudzu DG1 was entered for Jim Downing-Tim McAdam. Those cars could rely on reliability.

The practice sessions saw Juan Fangio set up a new record for the track with an astonishing 1m47s913, which was less than one second off the Indy Track record! PJ Jones was second and Davy Jones was next. Unfortunately, Davy Jones would crash in the warm-up session, and the car could not be repaired for the race. So he was a non-starter.

As expected, both Eagle Toyota jumped into the lead, and they immediately flew away from the rest of the pack. Geoff Brabham was third and tried not to lose too much ground on the leaders. He was followed by Oscar Larrauri, Price Cobb, Tom Kendall and Pete Halsmer. Tom Kendall would pit early in the race, his car experiencing vibrations. He would retire after only five laps with a broken suspension. So, behind the three leaders, the Mazda RX792Ps driven by Price Cobb and Pete Halsmer would try to hold off the Porsche 962s driven by Oscar Larrauri and Gianpiero Moretti. Parker Johnstone, as expected, was leading the Lights class, with teammate Ruggero Melgrati in second place and Charles Morgan next. Those cars would be lapped by the leaders after 8 laps. PJ Jones would be the first to pit for refueling, relying on his team to grab first place. Juan Fangio would stop one lap later, and he would have maintained his position.

The Lights class saw Charles Morgan running fast, and take the lead over Parker Johnstone and Ruggero Melgrati. The latter would be replaced by co-driver Wayne Taylor in the lead. At Mid point, however, the car lost a cylinder and retired. Dan Marvin took over Parker Johnstone in the sister car, leading the race. Tommy Riggins had taken over Charles Morgan Kudzu DG1 Buick, losing some time in the process. He was not quite ready to jump behind the wheel. The weather was very hot, with many drivers running doors opened. Juan Fangio stopped after 41 laps, getting four new tires, but losing first place. Dan Marvin, still in the lead in Lights, spun heavily when a cam broke in his car. Tommy Riggins took over and was in the lead, with Andy Evans-Firmin Velez in second place. Tim McAdam and Jim Downing were in third place, in a similar car. The race ahead was still dominated by the Toyotas, but Juan Fangio was running great, closing in on PJ Jones. He would easily get on his heels, and overtook him shortly after on lap 50. He pulled away from his teammate, but soon realized he had to pit again for fuel. Dan Gurney wanted him to grab full points for the championship, so he had both Toyotas pitting together for a splash and dash. The two cars would run until the chequered for an undisputed 1-2. The Lights class was finally won by Charles Morgan-Tommy Riggins, in a Kudzu DG1 Buick, while Jim Downing overtook Andy Evans in the closing laps and took second place.