Welcome to the IMSA History unofficial website

This site is aimed at bringing you memories from the glory days of sportscar racing in the US.



 1  6 MERCURY COUGAR XR7 Dorsey Schroeder 92 Laps 1.GTO
 2 40 FERRARI F40LM 79890 Hurley Haywood-Michel Ferté 88 Laps 2.GTO
 3 37 MAZDA MX6 GT Amos Johnson-John Finger 87 Laps 1.GTU
 4 38 MAZDA MX6 GT Stu Hayner 87 Laps 2.GTU
 5  5 MERCURY COUGAR XR7 Jim Stevens-Bob Schneider 86 Laps 3.GTO
 6 07 DODGE DAYTONA Neil Hanneman 85 Laps 3.GTU
 7 31 CHEVROLET CAMARO Ken Bupp-Rob Peters 84 Laps 4.GTO
 8 71 MAZDA MX6 GT Dennis Shaw 84 Laps 4.GTU
 9  1 MAZDA RX7 Pete Halsmer 83 Laps 5.GTO
10 11 CHEVROLET BERETTA Mark Porcaro 81 Laps 1.AAC
11 44 CHEVROLET CAMARO Kendall Cranston 81 Laps 2.AAC
12 87 CHEVROLET CAMARO Anthony Puleo 79 Laps 6.GTO
13 89 PORSCHE 911 Ray Hendricks-Bruce Jones 79 Laps 5.GTU
14 72 PORSCHE 911 Jay Kjoller-Patrick Mooney 79 Laps 6.GTU
15 83 MAZDA RX7 Jack Buchinger-Larry McKay 76 Laps 7.GTU
16 43 CHEVROLET CAMARO Glenn Andrew 75 Laps 3.AAC
17 18 MAZDA RX7 David Yarmoluk-Mike Green 75 Laps 8.GTU
18 12 CHEVROLET CAMARO Jon Olch-Tim Banks-Don Arpin 71 Laps 4.AAC
19 95 NISSAN 240SX Bob Leitzinger-David Loring 70 Laps 9.GTU
20 41 CHEVROLET CAMARO Jim Wakefield-Reggie Smith 69 Laps 7.GTO
21 04 CHEVROLET CAMARO Henry Brosnaham 65 Laps 8.GTO
22 57 NISSAN 240SX Reed Kryder-Henry Camferdam 65 Laps 10.GTU
23 63 MAZDA RX7 Lance Stewart 64 Laps 9.GTO
24 58 OLDSMOBILE TORONADO Tom Forgione-Maynard Troyer 60 Laps 5.AAC
25 66 MAZDA RX7 Brad Hoyt-Leighton Reese 58 Laps 11.GTU
26  9 MERCURY COUGAR XR7 Robby Gordon 51 Laps 10.GTO
27 82 MAZDA RX7 Dick Greer-Mike Mees 51 Laps 12.GTU
28  7 MAZDA RX7 Peter Uria-Jim Pace 48 Laps 13.GTU
29 17 MAZDA MX6 GT Al Bacon 43 Laps 14.GTU
30 65 NISSAN 300ZX Jim Lively 43 Laps 15.GTU
31 20 CHEVROLET BERETTA Dan Osterholt 36 Laps 6.AAC
32 81 NISSAN 240Z Mike Speakman 35 Laps 16.GTU
33 49 CHEVROLET CAMARO Clint Welding 30 Laps 7.AAC
34 96 NISSAN 240SX David Loring 27 Laps 17.GTU
35 06 CHEVROLET CAMARO Robert Kahn 18 Laps 11.GTO
36 00 DODGE DAYTONA Don Knowles 14 Laps 18.GTU
37 22 CHEVROLET CAMARO Gary Smith 14 Laps 12.GTO
38  8 MAZDA MX6 GT Chad Bacon 6 Laps 19.GTU
39 45 CHEVROLET CAMARO Frank Herchick 4 Laps 8.AAC
40 10 CHEVROLET BERETTA Clay Young 1 Lap 9.AAC

Cars that did not start

   18 MAZDA MX6 GT Paul Lewis GTU
   39 CHEVROLET BERETTA Chris DeMinco-Frank Del Vecchio AAC
   42 MAZDA RX7 Glenn Smith-Chuck Coffey GTU

Who wants to win?

A fine 40 car field would show up at the challenging track. It was the smallest GTO field in five years, however, with only twelve cars entering the fray. Three Mercury Cougar XR7s, with Dorsey Schroeder, Robby Gordon and Jim Stevens would face one Ferrari F40LM driven by Hurley Haywood and Michel Ferté. Two Mazda RX7s were entered for Pete Halsmer and Lance Stewart. The remainder of the field consisted of a few Chevrolet Camaros driven by privateers. No Nissan were to be seen, thanks to a new rule on the shape of the rear wing on GTO cars. The GTU field was most promising, with Mazda, Dodge, Nissan and Porsche. Mazda had both RX7s and the new MX6s. Amos Johnson and John Finger one of the Mazda Motorsport car, while Stu Hayner drove the other one. Dennis Shaw ran the Team Highball MX6. Al Bacon would enter his own car, backed by his son similar entry. Some older cars were there too, with Dick Greer, Dave Yarmoluk still running strong. Two Dodge Daytonas were driven by Neil Hanneman and Don Knowles. Leitzinger Racing had a pair of Nissan 240SXs, driven by Bob Leitzinger and David Loring. Two Porsche 911s were entered, driven by Ray Hendricks-Bruce Jones and Jay Kjoller-Pat Mooney. The American Challenge class was the home of Chevrolet cars, with many Camaros and Berettas, which were not challenged by any other make. Clay Young and Mark Porcaro were the favorites in their Berettas, with Tom Forgione surprisingly fast in his Camaro.

The weather was not sunny during the entire week-end, with intermittent rains and wind. Robby Gordon would put his Mercury Cougar on the pole with a 1m46s033. The Ferrari F40LM was right behind with a 1m46s076, followed by Dorsey Schroeder. It looked like the race would be interesting. The Mazda RX7s were off the pace, though. When the green was set, Robby Gordon jumped into the lead, followed by Hurley Haywood. Dorsey Schroeder overtook the Ferrari and took the lead on lap four. By lap five, however, a thin drizzle started, and soon everybody would pit for rain tires. After twenty minutes, Lance Stewart spun at turn nine, then Robby Gordon did the same in the first turn. While the track was drying, Pete Halsmer was the First to pit for dry tires. Everybody else would soon do the same while the weather seemed to change its mind, once again. The track was under changing conditions, which did not help. Robby Gordon was closing in on Pete Halsmer and took the lead. Dorsey Schroeder was third, nearly one lap down. The two leaders were trading the lead until lap 54, when the Mercury Cougar began to smoke. Two laps later, it was over with a cracked block. Pete Halsmer was the leader of the race. Lance Stewart was out of the race after crashing his car. Then the rain began to fall harder and everybody would swap tires, except Dorsey Schroeder. He would take the lead on lap 73, after the pace car had made a brief appearance. Pete Halsmer would stay close, but he lost a wheel on lap 84, and his day was done. The Ferrari F40 was now in second place, but went into a big smoke as it went past the pits. The car would retire on lap 88. Dorsey Schroeder would cruise to the finish alone. He won the race with four laps over this car, which was still classified in second place!

Don Knowles was clearly the fastest of the GTU drivers in his Dodge Daytona, followed by teammate Neil Hanneman. Both cars were followed by the two Leitzinger Racing Nissan 240SXs driven by Bob Leitzinger and David Loring. The latter was starting strong and took an early lead. Don Knowles followed, then Bob Leitzinger, Stu Hayner, Neil Hanneman, John Finger and Dennis Shaw. Don Knowles car would last only fourteen laps, with a cracked head gasket. David Loring was out a few laps later, with an engine failure. He would jump into Bob Leitzinger's car. Al Bacon lost a differential, which left John Finger and Amos Johnson in the lead. Stu Hayner was right behind his teammates, while Neil Hanneman was third, more than one lap down. The two Mazda MX6s ran strongly and would end up third and fourth overall! Neil Hanneman took third, two laps down. The American Challenge class was won by Mark Porcaro, while Clay Young retired on lap one with a blown engine. Kendall Cranston took second in his Chevrolet Camaro.