Welcome to the IMSA History unofficial website

This site is aimed at bringing you memories from the glory days of sportscar racing in the US.



 1 99 EAGLE HF89 Toyota Juan Fangio II 75 Laps 1.GTP
 2 83 NISSAN NPT90 90-01 Geoff Brabham 75 Laps 2.GTP
 3 84 NISSAN NPT90 90-02 Chip Robinson 75 Laps 3.GTP
 4 60 JAGUAR XJR10 589 Davy Jones-Alain Ferté 75 Laps 4.GTP
 5 16 PORSCHE 962C 148 James Weaver 75 Laps 5.GTP
 6 61 JAGUAR XJR10 389 Price Cobb-John Nielsen 75 Laps 6.GTP
 7 67 NISSAN ZX Tc GTP 88-03 John Paul Jr-Jacques Villeneuve 73 Laps 7.GTP
 8 32 SPICE SE90P Buick 015 Tomas Lopez-Dan Marvin 72 Laps 1.Lights
 9  8 KUDZU DG1 Buick 002 Charles Morgan-Tom Hessert 70 Laps 2.Lights
10 80 SPICE SE89P Ferrari Martino Finotto-Ruggero Melgrati 70 Laps 3.Lights
11  9 SPICE SE88P Buick Howard Katz-Brian Bonner 69 Laps 4.Lights
12 09 SPICE FIREBIRD 001 Michael Dow-George Sutcliffe-Bob Lesnett 66 Laps 8.GTP
13 33 SPICE SE90P Chevrolet 013 Perry McCarthy-Jay Cochran 65 Laps 9.GTP
14  4 SPICE SE88P Buick 002 Scott Schubot-Ken Knott 57 Laps 5.Lights
15 12 TIGA GT287 Chevrolet 342 Carlos Bobeda-Andy Evans 41 Laps 6.Lights
16 98 EAGLE HF89 Toyota Drake Olson 39 Laps 10.GTP
17 55 SPICE FIREBIRD David Rocha-Don Bell 39 Laps 7.Lights
18  6 PORSCHE 962C HR2 Bruce Canepa 34 Laps 11.GTP
19 64 SPICE SE89P Chevrolet 003 Albert Naon Jr 22 Laps 12.GTP
20 19 SPICE SE90P Ferrari David Tennyson 11 Laps 8.Lights

Cars that did not start

   10 SPICE SE90P Pontiac John Hotschkis-Jim Adams GTP

Close finish

The 1990 season was really getting hot, with at least three makes able to go for the win. Nissan was to be challenged not only by Jaguar and Toyota, but also by Spice semi-works cars. The field was only 20 cars rich, but those were fierce racers. So everything was set for a great race. The practice session brought a great surprise to everyone when Perry McCarthy stuck his Spice SE90P Chevrolet on the pole. He was followed by Wayne Taylor-Albert Naon Jr, who drove Jim Miller's similar car. The first row was all Chevrolet, to everyone's delight. Geoff Brabham had à tough week-end, blowing an engine and having a reluctant engine during practice. Perry McCarthy had à big crash in the carousel, after moving the rear anti-roll bar from half-stiff to full-stiff. Something he probably had better think twice next time. The team would have to work hard in order to repair the car, but it would be done within à couple of hours. Chip Robinson Nissan NPT90 was next, with Juan Fangio alongside. Drake Olson's second Toyota followed, with Davy Jones-Alain Ferté's Jaguar XJR10 next. Cars were allowed to use the full 1991 rules right now, which meant the Porsche 962s were allowed to lift 100lbs, while normally aspirated engines displacement could be raised to 6,5L. The goal being to add some more excitement to the GTP races. The race would prove those changes were kind of welcomed. Jay Cochran and Albert Naon Jr would start the race, while their co-drivers were to be in for the final stint.

At the start, Albert Naon Jr was on the outside line, but he held his position and was able to claim the lead, just ahead of Jay Cochran, Juan Fangio II and Chip Robinson. He would keep his position until lap six, then Jay Cochran would pass him, and pull away from him. Chip Robinson then would try to overtake him, but he would be slowed down with an oil leak. Jay Cochran was in the lead, now followed by Juan Fangio II, who was now ahead of Chip Robinson, and Price Cobb Jaguar XJR10. Geoff Brabham was in sixth place, following James Weaver's Porsche 962. Jay Cochran seemed to be an easy leader until lap 28. Then he lost a cylinder and had to give way to Juan Fangio II. Then Geoff Brabham would tangle with Martino Finotto's Spice 90P Ferrari. When the leaders completed their First pit stop session for fuel, the Nissan had climbed up to third place. Don Bell had crashed his Spice and a full caution was set. The two Nissan NPT90s were tucked behind the remaining Toyota Eagle HF90. The Nissan driven by Geoff Brabham was apparently more efficient than his teammate's, and Chip Robinson would yield the way to Geoff Brabham. It looked like Juan Fangio II would have a tough end of race. But the Lights cars would also play the classical role of moving chicanes, and play a part in the outcome. The last lap was to bring its share of excitement, with Geoff Brabham obviously eager to go for the win. It would be yet another close finish. When entering the last turn of the very last lap, Juan Fangio II looked in his mirrors and watched the Nissan trying to overtake him, but he had the good Line, so he knew he could not be passed. He had concentrated on keeping the good Line. The Nissan fell within a car length at the chequered. It was à 0.7s gap in the end. Chip Robinson was 21 seconds down.

The Lights race was to be close, too. Dan Marvin had qualified the Spice USA entry on the pole, partnering Tomas Lopez for the First time. Ruggero Melgrati was next, in his Spice SE90P Ferrari. Scott Schubot and Charles Morgan were right behind the two of them. Martino Finotto grabbed the lead from Tomas Lopez and Ken Knott, who drove a Spice SE90P Buick. Charles Morgan spun his Kudzu on the very first lap. Tomas Lopez took the lead on lap six, and Martino Finotto spun at turn 11. After That, it was David Rocha, followed by Charles Morgan, Ken Knott and Martino Finotto. David Tennyson retired his Spice SE90P Ferrari. Charles Morgan would pass David Rocha and looked able to go for the lead. On lap 27, an exhausted Tomas Lopez pitted for fuel, giving the car to Dan Marvin. Charles Morgan was in the lead, but he also had to pit for fuel. A caution period would annihilate his hopes for the class win. The Don Bell incident was the reason for this caution period. Charles Morgan would pit, Dan Marvin having a lead of over one lap on Charles Morgan. The latter letting Tom Hessert drive the car with two laps remaining. The Kudzu ended up in second place, while Martino Finotto and Ruggero Melgrati took third place. Tomas Lopez just added 20 more points to his wallet.