Welcome to the IMSA History unofficial website

This site is aimed at bringing you memories from the glory days of sportscar racing in the US.



 1 99 EAGLE HF90 Toyota Juan Fangio II 98 Laps 1.GTP
 2 84 NISSAN NPT90 90-02 Chip Robinson 98 Laps 2.GTP
 3 83 NISSAN NPT90 90-01 Geoff Brabham 98 Laps 3.GTP
 4 98 EAGLE HF89 Toyota Drake Olson 97 Laps 4.GTP
 5 16 PORSCHE 962C 148 James Weaver 96 Laps 5.GTP
 6  5 SPICE SE89P Oldsmobile 002 Mike Brockman-Scott Sharp 91 Laps 6.GTP
 7 32 SPICE SE90P Buick 015 Tomas Lopez-Parker Johnstone 91 Laps 1.Lights
 8  4 SPICE SE88P Buick 002 Ken Knott-Aurelio Lopez 91 Laps 2.Lights
 9 67 NISSAN ZX Tc GTP 88-03 John Paul Jr 90 Laps 7.GTP
10  8 KUDZU DG1 Buick 002 Tom Hessert-Charles Morgan 90 Laps 3.Lights
11 01 SPICE SE88P Buick SE87L-001 Greg Gallapsy-C.T Hancock-George Sutcliffe 82 Laps 4.Lights
12 59 SPICE FIREBIRD PSGTPL2 David Rocha-Dan Marvin 80 Laps 5.Lights
13 19 SPICE SE90P Ferrari David Loring-Firmin Velez 75 Laps 6.Lights
14 61 JAGUAR XJR10 389 Price Cobb 71 Laps 8.GTP
15 80 SPICE SE90P Ferrari Ruggero Melgrati 47 Laps 7.Lights
16  9 SPICE SE88P Buick Brian Bonner 42 Laps 8.Lights
17 33 SPICE SE90P Chevrolet 013 Perry McCarthy-Jay Cochran 36 Laps 9.GTP
18 10 SPICE SE90P Pontiac 008 Jim Adams-John Hotschkis 35 Laps 10.GTP
19 64 SPICE SE89P Chevrolet 003 Wayne Taylor 35 Laps 11.GTP
20 60 JAGUAR XJR10 589 Davy Jones 3 Laps 12.GTP

Cars that did not start

   09 SPICE SE89P Buick George Sutcliffe-Michael Dow Lights

Toyota, at last!

It was to be just another race to be run in the streets. The San Antonio circuit was 1,6 mile long, and it would feature a 2 Hour race. It would prove to be bumpy and very slippery. But the event was to bring one of the best racing ever, with many incidents. Nissan had brought two NPT90s driven by Geoff Brabham and Chip Robinson. Jaguar also had two cars, with Davy Jones and Price Cobb at the wheel of the XJR10. Toyota had two Eagle with Juan Fangio II running the HF90 and Drake Olson the HF89. David Seabroke had brought his Nissan ZX Tc GTP, which was to be driven by John Paul Jr. A pair of Spice GTPs were also privately entered : the Jim Miller SE89P, driven by Wayne Taylor and the works car, which was a SE90P, also Chevrolet powered, driven by Perry McCarthy. Hotschkis Racing had an Oldsmobile powered SE89P with Scott Sharp and Mike Brockman at the wheel.

Those cars would prove very efficient. Dyson Racing fielded an improved Porsche 962, with James Weaver at the wheel. The Lights cars would provide another race within the race. Tomas Lopez, who led the Championship points, was partnered by Parker Johnstone. The Spice SE90P was Buick powered, while Martino Finotto's car had a Ferrari powerplant. Their main competition was to be provided by the Kudzu DG1 Buick driven by Charles Morgan and Tom Hessert. David Loring was co-driven by Firmin Velez in another Spice Ferrari. Ken Knott and Aurelio Lopez would share the Scott Schubot Spice SE88P Buick car. The remainder of the field was a string of older Spice cars. The practionce sessions would display your typical dreamt grid. Geoff Brabham was on the pole, with Davy Jones just behind him, and Wayne Taylor and Price Cobb following. Perry McCarthy and John Paul Jr were next. Charles Morgan held the line in the Lights class, followed by Martino Finotto and Tomas Lopez. The weather was cloudy but the race should be run under mild conditions. At the start, Geoff Brabham jumped in the lead, followed by Davy Jones, Wayne Taylor, Price Cobb and Perry McCarthy. They would run in a very processional trim for a few laps. While Geoff Brabham seemed to draw away from the rest of the field, Wayne Taylor, Price Cobb and Davy Jones would get into a very big fight. Juan Fangio, who started eleventh, would pass Scott Sharp. The very first incident would happen on lap eleven when Davy Jones would suddenly hit the wall. It was the first retirement. As Geoff Brabham cruised easily, Wayne Taylor and Perry McCarthy now began to close in on the leader.

A full course yellow was set to withdraw Davy Jones' car. After eighteen laps, Geoff Brabham still led the race, but he would be outbraked by Wayne Taylor. Perry McCarthy would pass him a little later. The two Spices would lead the race and Geoff Brabham was getting chased by Price Cobb. He drove very aggressively, trying to overtake his opponent. John Paul Jr, who was in sixth place, spun. He was in the pits to switch for new tires. Martino Finotto was leading the Lights class. Greg Gallaspy spun, but he did not damage his car. Wayne Taylor was pursued by Perry McCarthy, followed by Geoff Brabham, Price Cobb and James Weaver. The two leaders were drawing away from the rest of the field. Perry McCarthy got closer to Wayne Taylor and took the lead. But on lap 35, both leading cars were no more ruling. Wayne Taylor pitted and Perry McCarthy hit a pile of tires. Geoff Brabham recovered the lead, and Price Cobb would pass Perry McCarthy, who would retire on the next lap. James Weaver was third, then Chip Robinson. Wayne Taylor was three laps down. Martino Finotto led the Lights class, followed by Tomas Lopez. Tom Hessert would spin, the following cars slightly avoiding a collision. The refueling sessions would take place, and the AAR team performance was to be highlighted. Then an horrendous crash would happen, with Martino Finotto hitting the wall and his car on fire. The driver was slightly burnt but the car was destroyed. A full yellow caution was set.

After 65 laps, Geoff Brabham was still leading, but the gap was now very tight. Price Cobb was second, followed by James Weaver, Chip Robinson, Juan Fangio II and Drake Olson. Then, Price Cobb spun shortly after the pit lane. James Weaver was now in second place. Five cars were grouped within a few seconds. Drake Olson damaged his nose while tangling with James Weaver. James Weaver was closing in on Geoff Brabham, and would take the lead with fifteen laps remaining. John Paul Jr was now back in fifth place. The race was not over yet. The two Nissan NPT90s were now running together, and Chip Robinson overtook his teammate. James Weaver, running fast, spun, due to his damaged rear wing. He was back in the pits. Then Juan Fangio II got to overtake Geoff Brabham : he was now in second place. Running faster and faster, he was on Chip Robinson's heels. He passed him a few laps later. John Paul Jr, who ran like hell, would close in on Chip Robinson for second place, after passing Geoff Brabham, but he hit his rear wing and went into the wall, crashing his car. Now, it was Chip Robinson who was chasing Juan Fangio II, trying to get back to first place. With five minutes to go, Chip Robinson spun, losing any chance to win the race. The race was over, and Juan Fangio II would cruise to a win, while Chip Robinson maintained his second place finish. Geoff Brabham was third, followed by James Weaver, who was to get lapped while Juan Fangio II passed the chequered. What a race! Tomas Lopez and Parker Johnstone took the Lights win, followed by the Aurelio Lopez-Ken Knott Spice SE88P Buick.