Welcome to the IMSA History unofficial website

This site is aimed at bringing you memories from the glory days of sportscar racing in the US.



 1 83 NISSAN NPT90 90-01 Geoff Brabham 39 Laps 1.GTP
 2 60 JAGUAR XJR10 589 Davy Jones 39 Laps 2.GTP
 3 98 EAGLE HF89 Toyota Juan Fangio II 39 Laps 3.GTP
 4 16 PORSCHE 962C 148 James Weaver 39 Laps 4.GTP
 5 67 NISSAN ZX Tc GTP 88-03 John Paul Jr 39 Laps 5.GTP
 6 61 JAGUAR XJR10 389 John Nielsen 38 Laps 6.GTP
 7 33 SPICE SE90P Chevrolet 013 Jay Cochran 38 Laps 7.GTP
 8 64 SPICE SE89P Chevrolet 003 Wayne Taylor 38 Laps 8.GTP
 9 84 NISSAN NPT90 90-02 Chip Robinson 37 Laps 9.GTP
10 99 EAGLE HF90 Toyota Rocky Moran 37 Laps 10.GTP
11 80 SPICE SE89P Ferrari Martino Finotto-Ruggero Melgrati 35 Laps 1.Lights
12 32 SPICE SE90P Buick 015 Tomas Lopez-Parker Johnstone 35 Laps 2.Lights
13  4 SPICE SE88P Buick 002 Ken Knott-Jim Pace 34 Laps 3.Lights
14  9 SPICE SE88P Buick Howard Katz-Brian Bonner 34 Laps 4.Lights
15 36 ARGO JM19 Mazda Frank Jellinek-John Grooms 33 Laps 5.Lights
16 19 SPICE SE90P Ferrari David Tennyson 21 Laps 6.Lights
17 92 ARGO JM19 Mazda 106 Max Schmidt 18 Laps 7.Lights
18 10 SPICE SE90P Pontiac 008 John Hotschkis 11 Laps 11.GTP
19  8 KUDZU DG1 Buick 002 Tom Hessert 3 Laps 8.Lights

Cars that did not start

    1 NISSAN ZX Tc GTP Geoff Brabham-Chip Robinson-Derek Daly-Bob Earl GTP
    5 SPICE SE89P Oldsmobile 002 Paul Newman-Mike Brockman GTP
   25 ARGO JM19 Buick 113 Brent O'neill Lights
   55 SPICE FIREBIRD PSGTPL2 David Rocha Lights

Tire choice

A mere 19 car field would show up for this GTP race as the GT cars would run a separate race. Nissan had two cars with Geoff Brabham and Chip Robinson, both running on NPT90 cars. John Paul Jr could also do well with GTP ZX Tc 88. Jaguar had also two cars, which were XJR10s, with Davy Jones and John Nielsen at the wheel. Toyota had one Eagle HF89 for Juan Fangio II and a HF90 for Rocky Moran. One sole Porsche 962 was entered, with James Weaver driving the Dyson Racing machine. The remainder of the GTP class consisted of Spice cars, with Wayne Taylor and Jay Cochran driving the Chevrolet powered cars, while Jim Adams had a Pontiac powered car. The Lights class was also dominated by Spice, both numerically speaking and on the track. Tomas Lopez was partnered by Parker Johnstone in the works car. Ruggero Melgrati and Martino Finotto drove the Ferrari powered car, Ken Knott was co-driven by Jim Pace while Howard Katz and Brian Bonner teamed up. Charles Morgan and Tom Hessert drove the only Kudzu entered. Two Argo JM19 were entered, with Frank Jellinek-John Grooms. Max Schmidt and Jim Briody drove the other one.

The race was to be run on a single 250km heat, which meant that GTP drivers could run solo. That was not the case for the Lights class, which required two drivers, whatever the length of the race. The format was retained because of a really bad weather, as a flooded back straight was to be considered. The track was partially wet and dry in some places, which complicated the drivers choice for tires. Geoff Brabham would stick his Nissan NPT90 on the pole, with a 1m54s806, Chip Robinson was second, with 1m55s462. Davy Jones was third in his Jaguar XJR10, with John Nielsen alongside. Weather conditions would remain unpredictable all week end long. Geoff Brabham would lead the first lap, but Davy Jones slipped into the lead when Geoff Brabham balanced his full fuel load imbalance. John Nielsen was in 2nd place for a while, but the Nissan was getting better, and Geoff Brabham retained his position. He was around 4s7 behind Davy Jones, but had opened a 6s gap over John Nielsen. James Weaver was then in 4th place, followed by Juan Fangio and Chip Robinson, who fought it off. The weather was quite changing when it came to pit stops. John Nielsen was the first to stop and switched to wets. Juan Fangio was next, then came Davy Jones. Geoff Brabham would wait four more laps. He would choose not to change tires. It would prove the correct choice. By lap 30, he was on Davy Jones wake. Then, he overtook him in turn 14. The gap would remain around 3s when Davy Jones overcooked it and gave Geoff Brabham a 22.932s margin at the chequered. Juan Fangio Stuck his Toyota in 3rd place, just ahead of James Weaver's Porsche 962. John Paul Jr finished in 5th place.

Parker Johnstone had put the works Spice SE90P on the pole, with a 2m08s762, just ahead of Ruggero Melgrati Spice SE89P Ferrari. Martino Finotto would start the race, followed by David Tennyson. Jim Pace was third, followed by Tomas Lopez. After 16 laps, Martino Finotto handed the car to Ruggero Melgrati, who did not switch for new tires. Six laps later, Parker Johnstone took over Tomas Lopez, with a new set of rain tires on. He would be unable to challenge Ruggero Melgrati, who pulled away easily. The Spice Ferrari won by a 1m14s250 margin. Tomas Lopez and Parker Johnstone were second, with Ken Knott and Jim Pace ending up a close 3rd. The choice for rain tires being obviously not the good one for both teams.