Welcome to the IMSA History unofficial website

This site is aimed at bringing you memories from the glory days of sportscar racing in the US.



 1 16 PORSCHE 962 120 Price Cobb-Vern Schuppan 128 Laps 1.GTP
 2 10 PORSCHE 962 HR3FR John Hotschkis-Jim Adams 126 Laps 2.GTP
 3 09 SPICE FIERO PSGTPL1 Steve Durst-Mike Brockman 122 Laps 1.Lights
 4 63 ARGO JM19 Mazda 107 Jim Downing-John Maffucci 121 Laps 2.Lights
 5 70 DENALI Mazda David Loring 121 Laps 3.Lights
 6 80 ALBA AR6 Ferrari Martino Finotto-Guido Dacco 119 Laps 4.Lights
 7 43 FABCAR Porsche FEP-002 Tim McAdam-Chip Mead 119 Laps 5.Lights
 8 19 TIGA GT285 Mazda 286 Scott Schubot-Linda Ludemann 115 Laps 6.Lights
 9 23 ARGO JM16 Buick George Petrilak-Jeff Purner 115 Laps 7.Lights
10 53 LOLA T616 Mazda Bill Bean 115 Laps 8.Lights
11 01 SPICE FIERO Don Bell-Jeff Kline 115 Laps 9.Lights
12 42 FABCAR Porsche FEP-001 John Higgins-Howard Cherry 112 Laps 10.Lights
13 44 JAGUAR XJR7 001 Bob Tullius-John Morton 108 Laps 3.GTP
14  6 SPICE FIERO 002 Jim Rothbarth-Charles Morgan 107 Laps 11.Lights
15  4 FORD MUSTANG GTP 001 Scott Pruett-Pete Halsmer 98 Laps 4.GTP
16 96 TIGA GT286 Mazda 342 Tom Hessert-Charles Monk 97 Laps 12.Lights
17 64 ARGO JM19 Buick Bobby Brown-Ken Knott 88 Laps 13.Lights
18  1 PORSCHE 962 HR1 Chip Robinson-Al Holbert 78 Laps 5.GTP
19 29 TIGA GT286 Buick 321 Ron Canizares-Bill Wolff 67 Laps 14.Lights
20 14 PORSCHE 962 103 Al Holbert-Derek Bell 62 Laps 6.GTP
21 73 TIGA GT286 Chevrolet 322 Howard Katz-Steve Phillips 57 Laps 15.Lights
22 03 TIGA GT285 Mazda Tommy Miller-Dick Rose 46 Laps 16.Lights
23 52 CHEVROLET CORVETTE GTP T8610-HU1 Sarel Van der Merwe 37 Laps 7.GTP
24 15 ALBA AR8 Buick 001 Kenper Miller 16 Laps 8.GTP
25 83 NISSAN ZX Tc GTP 8701 Elliot Forbes Robinson-Doc Bundy 3 Laps 8.GTP

Cars that did not start

   00 ARGO JM16 Buick Lanny Drevitch Lights
    9 TIGA GT285 Mazda Terry Loebel-Bruce McInnes Lights
   31 GEBHARDT JC853 BMW David Hobbs-Gary Robinson Lights
   36 ROYALE RP40 Mazda John Grooms Lights
   61 ARGO JM19 Buick 113 Brent O'neill-Mike Snow Lights
   62 PORSCHE 962 107B Steve Shelton-Tom Shelton GTP
   67 PORSCHE 962 108B/C-01 Darin Brassfield-Wally Dallenbach Jr-Bob Wollek GTP

Fastest race ever

One of the fastest race ever to be run. It was run on the short course, which allowed high speed. The race was also a reason to celebrate for both teams wining the two classes. While the field was reduced to 25 entries, the decision was made to run on the short course. The lap times were just under 1m 03s, which made it the fastest Road course in America. Cars had to be set up differently from the original configuration, with the bumpy straightaway being crossed every minute or so. The top cars were the two Holbert cars, the Dyson car, the Nissan and the Corvette GTP. The latter car set up a 1m01s054, a little over 205mph. But the front Line was all Holbert, with Al Holbert and Derek Bell ahead of everybody. The Nissan was behind Sarel van der Merwe. The race was very promising, with Sarel van der Merwe darting from the second row and grabbing first place in the back straight. Price Cobb was back in fifth place and already prodding the Nissan, driven by Elliot Forbes Robinson. On the fourth lap, the Nissan's tire would explode and shatter the rear bodywork : it was the First retirement. The yellow was set and John Morton would stop to have dust removed from his windshield. He would stop later with gear linkage problems. Derek Bell would then stop with gearbox problems, a fourth gear, to be precise. Kenper Miller also limped to his pits with a broken turbo on his Alba Buick. Al Holbert was not to be detered, and would pass Sarel van der Merwe. He held it for thirteen laps. Then, the Corvette was back a gain in first place, until Sarel van der Merwe hit a piece of debris. The car was stranded on course, and a yellow was set. The cars all Potter for fuel and Chip Robinson was now a full lap ahead of Vern Schuppan, who was in for Price Cobb. Pete Halsmer soon retired, leaving GTP cars to three. Chip Robinson only had to cruise to victory, and grab another victory, but it was not to be. However, after 79 laps, the car suddenly went into the tire wall, end of the story. Price Cobb reclaimed the lead, and cruised to the chequered, two laps ahead of John Hotschkis Porsche 962. The Jaguar and the Ford ended up behind the entire Lights field.

The Chevrolet Corvette GTP prior to the race.

The Lights race was more exciting, with Don Bell jumping into the lead at the start. Steve Phillips was next, followed by Steve Durst and David Loring. Phillips and Bell coasted to a duel, while Jim Downing passed David Loring. While the cars pitted for fuel during one of the yellow sessions, Steve Durst would take advantage of the mix-up. Jim Downing and Don Bell pitted earlier. Steve Durst was now in the lead while Don Bell and Jeff Kline were now fighting for second place. But the latter would hit Ken Knott's Argo, and end up in eleventh place. Steve Durst and Mike Brockman earned the race over Jim Downing and John Maffucci, while David Loring soloed to third place. The Alba Ferrari driven by Martino Finotto and Ruggero Melgrati ended up fourth.