Welcome to the IMSA History unofficial website

This site is aimed at bringing you memories from the glory days of sportscar racing in the US.



 1 85 PORSCHE 962 121 Jochen Mass 97 Laps 1.GTP
 2  3 PORSCHE 962 128 Oscar Larrauri 96 Laps 2.GTP
 3 86 PORSCHE 962 HR2 Bobby Rahal 96 Laps 3.GTP
 4 67 PORSCHE 962 119 Bob Wollek 96 Laps 4.GTP
 5 16 PORSCHE 962 122A Price Cobb 96 Laps 5.GTP
 6 83 NISSAN ZX Tc GTP 8702 Elliot Forbes Robinson-Geoff Brabham 95 Laps 6.GTP
 7  6 SPICE FIERO 002 Jim Rothbarth-Charles Morgan 91 Laps 1.Lights
 8 73 TIGA GT286 Chevrolet 322 Steve Phillips-Howard Katz 91 Laps 2.Lights
 9 63 ARGO JM19 Mazda 107 Jim Downing-John Maffucci 88 Laps 3.Lights
10 44 JAGUAR XJR7 001 Hurley Haywood-John Morton 87 Laps 7.GTP
11 79 SPICE FIERO 003 Philippe de Henning-Bill Koll 87 Laps 4.Lights
12 42 FABCAR Porsche FEP-701 Tim McAdam-Howard Cherry 86 Laps 5.Lights
13 36 ROYALE RP40 Mazda Frank Jellinek-John Grooms 85 Laps 6.Lights
14 48 ARGO JM16 Buick Lorenzo Lamas-Skeeter McKitterick 83 Laps 7.Lights
15 01 SPICE FIERO 001 Don Bell-Jeff Kline 77 Laps 8.Lights
16 43 FABCAR Porsche FEP-002 Chip Mead-John Higgins 87 Laps 7.Lights
17  1 PORSCHE 962 103 Derek Bell-Chip Robinson 74 Laps 8.GTP
18 64 ARGO JM19 Buick Bobby Brown-Ken Knott 52 Laps 10.Lights
19 32 TIGA GT285 Buick Tom Blackaller 50 Laps 11.Lights
20 09 SPICE FIERO PSGTPL1 Steve Durst-Mike Brockman 37 Laps 12.Lights
21 15 ALBA AR8 Buick 001 Rob Stevens 20 Laps 9.GTP
22 52 CHEVROLET CORVETTE GTP T8610-HU01 Doc Bundy 18 Laps 10.GTP
23 14 PORSCHE 962 HR1 Chip Robinson 10 Laps 11.GTP
24  5 PORSCHE 962 C04 James Weaver 7 Laps 12.GTP
25 11 LOLA T600 Chevrolet HU5 Tom Kendall 5 Laps 13.GTP
26 22 CHEVROLET CORVETTE GTP T8610-HU02 Sarel Van der Merwe 1 Lap 14.GTP

Cars that did not start

    4 FORD MUSTANG GTP 001 Scott Pruett GTP
   10 PORSCHE 962 HR5 Jim Adams GTP
   30 MARCH 86G Buick 11 Gianpiero Moretti-Whitney Ganz GTP
   34 ARGO JM16 Mazda Kim Campbell-Alfred Mitchell Lights
   96 TIGA GT286 Mazda 342 Tom Hessert-David Loring Lights

Jochen Mass deserved win

26 cars were to take the start of this very last race of the 1987 season, which saw another Porsche domination. The very tight and narrow track did not allow any mistake and a smooth driving was required. Nine Porsche 962s would face one Nissan ZX Tc GTP driven by Geoff Brabham and Elliot Forbes Robinson, two Chevrolet Corvette GTPs driven by Sarel van der Merwe and Doc Bundy and the Group 44 Jaguar XJR7 in the hands of Hurley Haywood and John Morton. Tom Kendall would enter his first GTP race at the wheel of the ageing Lola T600 Chevrolet owned by his father. The new Alba AR8 was also entered with Rob Stevens and Bernard Jourdain driving. During the qualifying session, two cars were out for the case : the Hotschkis Porsche 962 driven by Jim Adams and Momo March 86G Buick which was crashed heavily. Chip Robinson, driving one of the two Holbert Porsches, set the pole with a 1m03s849, followed by Price Cobb and Geoff Brabham's Nissan. The start of the race saw Chip Robinson and Price Cobb accelerate and have a drag race, with Chip Robinson taking the edge. In fact, he would have a three second advantage at the end of the first lap. Sarel van der Merwe was already out after an off course at the chicane. Price Cobb had been overtaken by both Jochen Mass and Bobby Rahal. After five laps, the leader was five seconds ahead of Bobby Rahal, who struggled to keep ahead of Jochen Mass and Price Cobb. The latter would spin on lap nine, and pit for quick repairs. On lap eleven, Chip Robinson was just lapping Jim Rothbarth when he was sent into the wall by the Spice Fiero driver. The pace car was out while the Porsche 962 was dragged out of the track. When the race restarted, it was only to be yellow flagged again as Doc Bundy crashed heavily at turn four. Bobby Rahal was in the lead at the restart, followed by Geoff Brabham and Jochen Mass. On lap 40, Bobby Rahal was sent spinning by Jeff Kline. Geoff Brabham, who was following closely, locked up his brakes and had now here to go. Jochen Mass had to stop and let the Nissan go. The two of them were in the lead, now well ahead of Derek Bell, who drove the #1 Porsche 962. Oscar Larrauri was next, followed by Hurley Haywood in an overheating Jaguar XJR7 and Bob Wollek. Geoff Brabham managed to pull ahead of Jochen Mass, but suddenly spun at the chicane. He would be able to restart in third place. Jochen Mass pitted then for fuel on lap 60. Everyone would pit during the next laps and Jochen Mass was left in the lead with 24s over Chip Robinson, who took over Derek Bell's car. Chip Robinson was able to reduce the gap on Jochen Mass, but he would again spin and crash at the chicane. Jochen Mass was a comfortable leader over Bobby Rahal, whose car was without a clutch. Oscar Larrauri, who was running consistently, managed to get past him on lap 83. He finished second to Jochen Mass, who earned the biggest prize money ever offered by IMSA : $85000. The Lights race was dominated by Jim Rothbarth Spice Fiero, who had a 10s advantage after only eight laps over Don Bell. Skeeter McKitterick followed in a similar car, and Chip Mead in a Fabcar Porsche. The full yellow caution helped Jim Rothbarth get well clear of any body, as he was the only unlapped Lights driver. The second caution period allowed both leaders to be relieved by Charles Morgan and Jeff Kline. The latter was running strong and closing in on Charles Morgan, but he lost ground after the incident with Bobby Rahal. He lost his chances at the title when he pitted for repairs. Chip Mead was later black flagged for exceeding the noise limit. So it was Jim Rothbarth and Charles Morgan who took the win, well over Howard Katz and Steve Phillips Tiga GT 286 Chevrolet. Jim Downing and John Maffucci finished third in their Argo JM19 Mazda, with Jim Downing earning his third Lights crown.