Welcome to the IMSA History unofficial website

This site is aimed at bringing you memories from the glory days of sportscar racing in the US.



 1 14 PORSCHE 962 HR1 Al Holbert-Derek Bell 129 Laps 1.GTP
 2 44 JAGUAR XJR5 003 Bob Tullius-Chip Robinson 129 Laps 2.GTP
 3 52 CHEVROLET CORVETTE GTP T8610-HU1 Doc Bundy-Sarel Van der Merwe 128 Laps 3.GTP
 4 86 PORSCHE 962 HR2 Bob Wollek-Paolo Barilla 128 Laps 4.GTP
 5 04 JAGUAR XJR5 001 Brian Redman-Hurley Haywood 128 Laps 5.GTP
 6 16 PORSCHE 962 120 Drake Olson-Price Cobb 128 Laps 6.GTP
 7 83 NISSAN ZX Tc GTP T710-3 Elliot Forbes Robinson-Ludwig Heimrath Jr 127 Laps 7.GTP
 8  3 PORSCHE 962 107B Oscar Larrauri-Massimo Sigala 126 Laps 8.GTP
 9 68 PORSCHE 962 119 Darin Brassfield-Jochen Mass 125 Laps 9.GTP
10 67 PORSCHE 962 106 Jim Busby-John Morton 124 Laps 10.GTP
11 09 TIGA GT285 Mazda 287 Mike Brockman-Steve Durst 120 Laps 1.Lights
12 63 ARGO JM19 Mazda 107 Jim Downing-John Maffucci 118 Laps 2.Lights
13 06 ALBA AR5 Buick Joe Varde-Bill Adam 115 Laps 3.Lights
14 66 ROYALE RP40 Mazda JM16/097 Jim Rothbarth-Mike Meyer 112 Laps 4.Lights
15 25 ALBA AR2 Ferrari Howard Katz-Almo Coppelli 110 Laps 5.Lights
16 93 TIGA GT286 Mazda 330 Kelly Marsh-Don Marsh 104 Laps 6.Lights
17  9 TIGA GT286 Porsche 331 Deborah Gregg-Jeff Kline 102 Laps 7.Lights
18 42 FABCAR Porsche FGTP-701 Chip Mead-John O'steen 97 Laps 8.Lights
19 22 ROYALE RP40 Mazda JM16/104 Paul Corazzo-Ed Flemke 47 Laps 9.Lights
20 13 ARGO JM19 Mazda 109 Frank Rubino 37 Laps 10.Lights
21 46 HAWK Buick Whitney Ganz 35 Laps 11.GTP
22  6 TIGA GT286 Buick 321 Charles Morgan-Logan Blackburn 29 Laps 11.Lights
23 29 TIGA GT285 Mazda Ron Canizares 18 Laps 12.Lights
24 24 SPICE FIERO PSGTPL1 Bob Earl 9 Laps 13.Lights
25  5 PORSCHE 962 113 Hans Stuck 3 Laps 12.GTP

Cars that did not start


The Mid Ohio course saw a fine field of cars enter the race. Porsche, as usual, being the favorite for the win. Seven of them were to be driven by the finest drivers in the world. Holbert Racing had Al Holbert and Derek Bell, Dyson Racing Rob Dyson, Price Cobb and Drake Olson. Hans Stuck was in Bob Akin's car, while Bob Wollek and Paolo Barilla shared the Bayside Disposal car. Jim Busby and John Morton drove one of the BF Goodrich cars, and Darin Brassfield co-drove Jochen Mass. Oscar Larrauri and Massimo Sigala were at the wheel of the Brun Motorsport car. Facing this littoral armada was Rick Hendrick's Chevrolet Corvette GTP, which was driven by Sarel van der Merwe and Doc Bundy. The car was fast, as always, but needed some more reliability. Group 44 entered two Jaguar XJR7s, which had different powerplants. Bob Tullius and Chip Robinson's car sported a V12 6,5L and could rely on forty more horsepower. Brian Redman and Hurley Haywood had the traditional 6,0L engine. Nissan entered its Nissan GTP, which was driven by Elliot Forbes Robinson and Ludwig Heimrath Jr. The car was still under development but was gaining momentum. The remainder of the field was Lights cars. Jim Downing drove his usual Argo JM19 Mazda with John Maffucci. Three other Argos were entered, also Mazda powered. Paul Corazzo and Ed Flemke, as Jim Rothbarth and Mike Meyer, drove a JM16 car, while Frank Rubino and Ray Mummery had a JM19. A string of Tiga could have a go at victory, with Steve Durst and Mike Brockman in a Mazda powered car. Don and Kelly Marsh, along with Ron Pawley, enjoyed a Mazda powered car too. Deborah Gregg and Jeff Kline would share a Porsche machine, entered by Brumos. A single Alba Ferrari was there, with Almo Coppelli and Howard Katz, but it was fast. Joe Varde and Tico Almeida had à Buick powered car. A lonely but reliable Fabcar Porsche, driven by John Higgins, Chip Mead and John O'steen could be a threat to all.

The practice session saw Hans Stuck put the Coke Porsche 962 on the pole. In fact, the car would prove to be doomed very early in the race. Al Holbert was second, just ahead of Bob Tullius. At the start of the race, Al Holbert jumped into the lead, followed by Bob Tullius. Hans Stuck would last only three laps, before electrics would short his day. Drake Olson Porsche 962 had an early pit stop when he had to have his shifter repaired. Brian Redman had an off-course, losing almost one lap. Yet, both of them would run hard. The Dyson Porsche was trying to get back and grab every second lost. Trying to pass Brian Redman, Al Holbert would have to sit and Chip Robinson would come close to him. Trying harder and harder, Al Holbert would be chopped off by Brian Redman. The result being a lost headlight. He passed him in the next lap. Chip Robinson had closed in on him and was only 2.2s down. Then, Al Holbert gradually pulled away, running smoothly and faultlessly. Co-driven by Derek Bell, the pair was never to be threatened. Bob Tullius and Chip Robinson came in second place, followed by Sarel van der Merwe and Doc Bundy, who ran well but had to pit for fuel one more time. Quite handicapping in such a race. Next to it was Bob Wollek and Paolo Barilla, who finally son a late fight with Brian Redman and Hurley Haywood. The Lights class was dominated by Mike Brockman and Steve Durst. Their Tiga GT286 Mazda also took the lead right from the start. Pulling away from the rest of the pack, they were never challenged in any way. They ended the race with a two lap victory over Jim Downing and John Maffucci, who drove the Argo JM19 Mazda. Joe Varde and Tico Almeida took third in an Alba AR5 Buick, one more lap down. A perfect day, as would Mike Brockman put it.