Welcome to the IMSA History unofficial website

This site is aimed at bringing you memories from the glory days of sportscar racing in the US.



 1 86 PORSCHE 962 109 Bob Wollek-Paolo Barilla 128 Laps 1.GTP
 2  8 PORSCHE 962 104 AJ Foyt-Danny Sullivan 128 Laps 2.GTP
 3  5 PORSCHE 962 113 Hans Stuck-Jo Gartner 128 Laps 3.GTP
 4 04 JAGUAR XJR7 002 Brian Redman-Hurley Haywood 127 Laps 4.GTP
 5  7 FORD MUSTANG PROBE Klaus Ludwig-Tom Gloy 126 Laps 5.GTP
 6 14 PORSCHE 962 HR1 Al Holbert-Derek Bell 123 Laps 6.GTP
 7  3 PORSCHE 962 107B Oscar Larrauri-Massimo Sigala 123 Laps 7.GTP
 8 07 FORD MUSTANG PROBE Lyn St James-Pete Halsmer 123 Laps 8.GTP
 9 19 BMW GTP David Hobbs-John Watson 122 Laps 9.GTP
10 83 NISSAN ZX Tc GTPT710-3 Tony Adamowicz-Elliot Forbes Robinson 119 Laps 10.GTP
11 15 MARCH 85G Buick 2 John Kalagian-Rick Knoop 116 Laps 11.GTP
12  2 MARCH 84G Chevrolet 1 Al Leon-Art Leon 115 Laps 12.GTP
13  0 PORSCHE 962 116IM Gianpiero Moretti-Randy Lanier 115 Laps 13.GTP
14 00 MARCH 83G Porsche 4 Jim Adams-John Hotschkis 108 Laps 14.GTP
15 99 TIGA GT285 Ford Tc 294 David Andrews-Nick Nicholson 106 Laps 15.GTP
16 33 LOLA T600 Chevrolet HU4 Bard Boand-Richard Anderson 98 Laps 16.GTP
17 45 HAWK Buick John Paul Jr 95 Laps 17.GTP
18 35 ROYALE RP40 Porsche 1 Mandy Gonzales-Chris Marte 95 Laps 18.GTP
19 46 HAWK Buick 1 Ken Madren-Whitney Ganz 91 Laps 19.GTP
20 67 PORSCHE 962 106 Jim Busby-Darin Brassfield 78 Laps 20.GTP
21 28 SAUBER C7 BMW 83-C7-01 Fomfor-Albert Naon 64 Laps 21.GTP
22 44 JAGUAR XJR7 004 Bob Tullius-Chip Robinson 62 Laps 22.GTP
23 53 MARCH 84G Chevrolet Walt Bohren 47 Laps 23.GTP
24 06 LOLA T600 Porsche HU8 Tico Almeida-Joe Varde 45 Laps 24.GTP
25 18 BMW GTP Davy Jones-John Andretti 41 Laps 25.GTP
26 85 MARCH 85G Chevrolet Emerson Fittipaldi-Bobby Rahal 36 Laps 26.GTP
27 62 MARCH 82G Chevrolet 4 Steve Shelton 32 Laps 27.GTP
28 52 CHEVROLET CORVETTE GTP T710-HU1 Sarel Van der Merwe 30 Laps 28.GTP
29  4 CHEVROLET CORVETTE GTP T711-HU2 Lew Price 11 Laps 29.GTP

Cars that did not start

   01 PORSCHE 962 101 Drake Olson GTP

Brilliant Bob did it!

The course had been moved just north of the previous location, and the pavement was smooth. The track was not especially fast, with two small 300m straights, and many tight corners. The only safe overtaking place being Biscayne Boulevard, offering a suitable passing zone under braking. The track was also to suffer from asphalt breaking up under the grip of the GTPs. It would be fixed by using some quick dry concrete pads. The qualifying purse was the highest ever to be won, so many drivers would get ready to fire up their cars. The Chevrolet Corvette GTP driven by Sarel van der Merwe was the fastest of the session, followed by the Porsche 962s driven by Jo Gartner and Bob Wollek. Al Holbert was next, followed by Oscar Larrauri, John Paul Jr in the Hawk Buick, Pete Halsmer in the Ford Mustang Probe. Hurley Haywood was the fastest Jaguar driver, just ahead of Klaus Ludwig, with Drake Olson next. The latter would not take part in the race, due to the car's extensive damage. The new BMW GTP driven by David Hobbs would start from the 11th position on the grid, while the Nissan ZX Tc GTP would be in a lowly 20th position, due to a broken shifter. Emerson Fittipaldi was co-driven by Bobby Rahal and Tony Garcia in a car rented from Blue Thunder Racing, entered by promoter Ralph Sanchez. He would start from the 13th place.

The race was promising, and Sarel van der Merwe would jump into the lead, followed by Bob Wollek, Oscar Larrauri and Jo Gartner. John Paul Jr was behind the Porsche trio, followed by Al Holbert, Klaus Ludwig, Hurley Haywood and David Hobbs. Emerson Fittipaldi was moving up the field and got past of Bob Tullius and Whitney Ganz. The first caution period occurred when Pete Halsmer and Lew Price met at turn one. At the restart, Oscar Larrauri proved more reactive, but Sarel van der Merwe would regain his position. However, he would be out after 28 laps, with a broken exhaust. Another caution period allowed Bob Wollek to take the lead after Walt Bohren's March would collect the spinning Sauber C7 of Fomfor. Al Holbert was now second, followed by Hurley Haywood Jaguar XJR5 and AJ Foyt, were the only drivers on the lead lap. Brian Redman would jump in for Hurley Haywood, but he was nearly one lap down. Danny Sullivan had lost some time exiting the pits while the Sauber was being cleared from the track. Bob Wollek was still behind the wheel, but Derek Bell was in for Al Holbert, and both drivers were now nose to tail. Bob Wollek had stretched his lead to six seconds but lost it after a collision with Lyn St James Ford Probe. The two experienced drivers would swap the lead many times, setting lap times in the 1m18s range. But another collision between Derek Bell and Gianpiero Moretti would end up the duel. He would bring in the car with a broken suspension. Now Bob Wollek was alone in the lead, while John Paul Jr was working his way through second place. However, he would retire later with engine trouble. Bob Wollek handed the car to Paolo Barilla with 45mn left. Brian Redman and Danny Sullivan, now in second and third place, were gaining in on him because of his slower pace. Hans Stuck and Jo Gartner were just behind them. They would find themselves in second place when Brian Redman and Danny Sullivan pitted for fuel. The end of the race was exciting, with Brian Redman being passed by Danny Sullivan for second place. He was now catching Hans Stuck, whose tires were wearing out. He would overtake him with three laps to go! Then Brian Redman would crash his Jaguar at Turn Five, but he would manage to cross the finish line. Klaus Ludwig and Tom Gloy ended up in fifth place at the wheel of the first Ford Probe. Al Holbert and Derek Bell ended up in fifth place, while the best BMW GTP was ninth and the Nissan ZX Tc GTP driven by Elliot Forbes Robinson and Tony Adamowicz took an encouraging 10th place.