Welcome to the IMSA History unofficial website

This site is aimed at bringing you memories from the glory days of sportscar racing in the US.



 1 14 PORSCHE 962 103 Al Holbert-Derek Bell 129 laps 1.GTP
 2 56 MARCH 84G Chevrolet 4 Randy Lanier-Bill Whitington 129 laps 2.GTP
 3 86 PORSCHE 962 101 Hurley Haywood-Bobby Rahal 129 laps 3.GTP
 4 45 LOLA T600 Chevrolet HU11 John Morton-Richard Spenard 129 laps 4.GTP
 5 00 MARCH 83G Porsche 4 Sarel Van der Merwe-Tony Martin 128 laps 5.GTP
 6 30 ALBA AR3 Ford 001 Gianpiero Moretti-Fulvio Ballabio 119 laps 6.GTP
 7 63 ARGO JM16 Mazda Jim Downing-John Maffucci 119 laps 7.GTP
 8 67 LOLA T616 Mazda HU1 Jim Busby-Pete Halsmer 119 laps 8.GTP
 9 91 PORSCHE 934 930 890 0014 Chet Vincentz-Dave White 119 laps 1.GTO
10 38 MAZDA RX7 Roger Mandeville-Amos Johnson 117 laps 2.GTO
11 66 MAZDA RX7 Jack Dunham-Jeff Kline 115 laps 1.GTU
12 32 DATSUN 280ZX George Alderman-Lew Price 114 laps 2.GTU
13 43 BMW M1 Diego Montoya-Brian Goellnicht 113 laps 3.GTO
14 95 DATSUN 280ZX Bob Leitzinger-Bob Criss 112 laps 4.GTU
15 76 MAZDA RX7 Jack Baldwin-Bob Reed 112 laps 5.GTU
16 40 BMW M1 4301225 Uli Bieri-Matt Gysler 111 laps 4.GTO
17 80 DATSUN 280Z Carson Hurley-Jim Fitzgerald 109 laps 5.GTU
18 25 MARCH 83G Chevrolet 3 Kenper Miller-Dave Cowart 108 laps 9.GTP
19 92 MAZDA RX7 Dick Greer-Doug Carmean 108 laps 6.GTU
20 64 PORSCHE CARRERA RSR John Hulen-Ron Coupland 106 laps 5.GTO
21 27 MAZDA RX7 Jim Fowells-Ray Mummery 106 laps 7.GTU
22 03 CHEVROLET MONZA Kim Mason-Jerry Thompson 105 laps 6.GTO
23 41 CHEVROLET CAMARO John Huber-Don Herman 105 laps 7.GTO
24 77 DATSUN 280ZX Reed Kryder-Dave Weitzenhof 105 laps 8.GTU
25 36 PORSCHE 914/6 Richard Graves-Alice Graves 95 laps 9.GTU
26 55 MAZDA RX7 E.B Lunken-John Fowler 86 laps 10.GTU
27  7 PORSCHE 911 John Higgins-James King 85 laps 4.GTU
28 93 MAZDA RX7 Kelly Marsh-Ron Pawley-Don Marsh 83 laps 12.GTU
29 75 MAZDA RX7 Chris Dembs-Mike Brummer 83 laps 13.GTU
30 48 DATSUN 280Z Bill Miller-Jack Ries 80 laps 14.GTU
31 11 LOLA T600 Chevrolet HU5 Chuck Kendall-Jim Cook 78 laps 10.GTP
32 17 MAZDA RX7 Al Bacon-Charles Guest 74 laps 15.GTU
33  5 PORSCHE 935-84 935-84 Bob Akin-John O'steen 67 laps 11.GTP
34 15 LOLA T600 Chevrolet HU4 John Kalagian-John Lloyd 58 laps 12.GTP
35 10 PONTIAC FIREBIRD Luis Sereix-Dale Kreider 53 laps 8.GTO
36 02 MAZDA RX7 Bobby Diehl-Roy Newsome 47 laps 16.GTU
37 39 PHOENIX JG1 Chevrolet JG-1 John Gunn 46 laps 13.GTP
38 84 PONTIAC FIERO Clay Young 31 laps 17.GTU
39  4 CHEVROLET CAMARO Billy Hagan 30 laps 9.GTO
40 99 TOYOTA CELICA Jim Adams 29 laps 18.GTU
41 71 ARGO JM16 Buick 102 Charles Morgan 25 laps 14.GTP
42  2 MARCH 84G Chevrolet 1 Art Leon 25 laps 15.GTP
43 12 OSELLA PA10 BMW FA-2000-001 Werner Frank-Pierre Honegger 23 laps 16.GTP
44 19 NIMROD NRA/C2 Aston Martin 002 Jack Miller 19 laps 17.GTP
45 42 MAZDA RX7 Paul Lewis 17 laps 19.GTU
46 46 DATSUN 280Z Jack Buchinger 6 laps 20.GTU
47 23 PORSCHE 914/6 914 043 0538 Tim Selby 1 lap 21.GTU
48 31 PORSCHE 911 Mark Altman 1 lap 22.GTU

Cars that did not start

This race was to be another Porsche versus March duel. No Jaguar was to be seen, and forty nine cars would take the green. It would be a very tough race, and traffic would play a special part in that race, on such a twisty track. Bill Whittington would set the pace in his March 84G Chevrolet, clearly ahead of everybody else. His car was really the class of the field, but the new Porsche 962s were becoming threatening. Al Holbert was second in his Löwenbrau backed car, followed by John Morton, who was at the wheel of another March 84G Chevrolet entered by Conte Racing. Hurley Haywood and Bobby Rahal were next, in the Bayside Racing Porsche 962. The field had a strong GTO and GTU field. Gene Felton powered Billy Hagan's Chevrolet Camaro to the top GTO spot, three seconds ahead of Chet Vincentz Porsche 934, while Chris Cord AAR Toyota Celica was just ahead of Jack Baldwin CCR Mazda RX7 and Clay Young's Pontiac Fiero in GTU.

The race would be tough, with attrition playing its role on everybody. At the start, Bill Whittington stepped in the lead, followed by John Morton, Al Holbert, Sarel van der Merwe and Dave Cowart, who had a great start. After four laps, the leaders began to lap the backmarkers, and tension would grow up. Sarel van der Merwe would climb up the standings and catch John Morton, then Bill Whittington, but the latter would regain his position. After thirty laps, the first refueling session began and the drivers would get out of their cars, exhausted. Bill Whittington would stop and Randy Lanier was now in the car. Al Holbert would be replaced by Derek Bell while Hurley Haywood, who ran at his own pace, lend his car to Bobby Rahal. He was a full lap down in fourth place, but he was at his hometrack, and he was ready to unlap himself. Derek Bell, who also seemed to be faster than Randy Lanier, was closing in on him. The race was getting exciting, with four cars still on the same lap. It was Derek Bell who took the lead, followed by Randy Lanier, Richard Spenard(John Morton's co-driver) in third, Tony Martin in fourth and Bobby Rahal just behind him. He would overtake the March 84G Porsche when Tony Martin handed his car to Sarel van der Merwe. A rear tire had trouble coming off. Derek Bell was stretching his lead and it looked like things were over. However, the leader was suddenly back in the pits with a flat tire.

Randy Lanier was in the lead but he hit a guardrail in the esses! Al Holbert had taken the wheel of the leading Porsche, while Bill Whittington stepped into the Blue Thunder March. Al Holbert was in the lead, now followed by Bobby Rahal, John Morton was in third place, chased by a hot Bill Whittington. Bobby Rahal was on Al Holbert's heels and took the lead on lap 103. Undetered, Bill Whittington would pass John Morton and took third place, determined to close in on the leaders. In fact, Bobby Rahal had to take fuel, while Al Holbert didn't. That's why he let him go by. He went into the pits on lap 113, and was twenty six seconds behind when he went back to the track. However, Bill Whittington was next to him and decided he would not let him win. He would put off an incredible show. He would eat up the gap over and over again, but there was still almost four seconds when the chequered fell. Awesome! Al Holbert won, but he could thank his crew for this win, while Bobby Rahal finally took third place. Quite a disappointment for the crowd. Patience seemed to be the required word to sum up the race.

The GTO class was not to happen as expected, as the Stratagraph Chevrolet Camaro would have a really bad day. The car was out after thirty one laps. Chet Vincentz and Dave White took over and were not really challenged. Roger Mandeville and Amos Johnson were right behind them but never got past them. The Electrodyne Porsche was running stronger and stronger, taking the GTO class win. In GTU, the same thing happened to the leader, who retired after thirty nine laps. Clay Young Pontiac Fiero would expire a few laps later with an oil pump failure. Jack Dunham and Jeff Kline were content to take a first class win in their Mazda RX7, beating up George Alderman and Lew Price in a Datsun 280ZX. Bob Leitzinger and Bob Criss ran steadily finished third in another Datsun 280ZX. Jack Baldwin and Bob Reed finished fourth after losing some time for repairs after meeting a guardrail.