Welcome to the IMSA History unofficial website

This site is aimed at bringing you memories from the glory days of sportscar racing in the US.



Budweiser Grand Prix of Miami Camel GT, Miami

27 february 1983

Winners average : 82,192km/h

32 starters

Time : 01:45:00:000


1983 Daytona Miami Miami GTO Miami GTU Miami Sebring Road Atlanta Riverside Laguna Seca Laguna Seca Laguna Seca GTU Charlotte Lime Rock Mid Ohio Daytona 2 Brainerd Sears Point Portland Mosport Road America Pocono Daytona Finale Seasontalk

 1 41 MARCH 83G Chevrolet 2 Al Holbert-Jim Trueman 27 Laps 1.GTP
 2  1 LOLA T600 Chevrolet HU4 John Paul Jr-Brian Redman 27 Laps 2.GTP
 3 06 FORD MUSTANG Tc Klaus Ludwig-Bobby Rahal 27 Laps 3.GTP
 4  2 PORSCHE 935K4 K4/01 John Fitzpatrick-David Hobbs 51 Laps 4.GTP
 5 44 JAGUAR XJR5 004 Bob Tullius-Bill Adam 27 Laps 5.GTP
 6  9 PORSCHE 935K3 000 0009 Don Whittington-Preston Henn-Bonnie Henn 27 Laps 5.GTP
 7 54 MIRAGE M12 Ford 01 Tony Garcia-Albert Naon 27 Laps 7.GTP
 8 12 PORSCHE 935L JR-002 Jochen Mass-Derek Bell 27 Laps 8.GTP
 9 09 PORSCHE 935L 935L Bob Wollek-Michael Andretti 27 Laps 9.GTP
10 16 MARCH 83G Chevrolet 82G-4 Marty Hinze-Randy Lanier 26 Laps 10.GTP
11 86 LOLA T600 Porsche HU8 Brian Redman-Hurley Haywood 26 Laps 11.GTP
12  6 FORD MUSTANG Tc Geoff Brabham-Tim Coconis 26 Laps 12.GTP
13 11 NIMROD NRA/C2 Aston Martin 002 Victor Gonzalez-Drake Olson 26 Laps 13.GTP
14  5 PORSCHE 935K3 000 00013 Dale Whittington-Bob Akin 26 Laps 14.GTP
15 46 PORSCHE 935J 000 00012 Mauricio de Narvaez-George Salak 26 Laps 15.GTP
16 45 PONTIAC FIREBIRD Vicki Smith-Gene Felton 26 Laps 16.GTP
17 69 PORSCHE 934/5 930 670 0161 Hiram Cruz-Mandy Gonzalez 25 Laps 17.GTP
18 10 LOLA T600 Chevrolet HU1 Harald Grohs-Ralph Kent-Cooke 25 Laps 18.GTP
19  4 LOLA T600 Chevrolet HU5 Chris Cord-Jim Adams 25 Laps 19.GTP
20 22 NIMROD NRA/C2 003 Doc Bundy-Lyn St James 25 Laps 20.GTP
21 68 CHEVROLET CORVETTE Richard Valentine-Del Markle 24 Laps 21.GTP
22  8 PORSCHE 935JLP3 JLP3 Victor Perella-Fred Gottfried 24 Laps 22.GTP
23 25 MARCH 82G Porsche 2 Kenper Miller-David Cowart 23 Laps 23.GTP
24  3 GRID S1 Ford GA01 Emilio de Villota-Tom Sneva 23 Laps 24.GTP
25 53 MARCH BMW M1 003 Bob Young-Bob Gregg 19 Laps 25.GTP
26 30 PORSCHE 935L JR-001 Gianpiero Moretti-Sarel van der Merwe 17 Laps 26.GTP
27 39 PHOENIX JG1 Chevrolet JG-1 John Gunn-Ricardo Londono 17 Laps 27.GTP
28 35 BMW 320 Fomfor-Arnoldo Kregsa 14 Laps 28.GTP
29 00 LOLA T600 Chevrolet Danny Ongais-Ted Field 9 Laps 29.GTP
30 74 CHEVRON B36 Buick Del Taylor-Larry Figaro 9 Laps 30.GTP
31 77 MAZDA GTP Walt Bohren-Pierre Honegger 4 Laps 31.GTP
32 88 MARCH 83G Chevrolet 1 Tiff Needell-Howdy Holmes 1 Lap 32.GTP

Cars that did not start

    0 LOLA T600 Chevrolet Tc Danny Ongais-Ted Field GTP
    7 RONDEAU M382 Chevrolet 001 Gary Belcher-Rolf Stommelen GTP
   18 PORSCHE 935 JLP4 René Rodriguez-Lyn St James GTP
   24 PORSCHE 935JLP2 009 00043 ML Speer-Ken Madren GTP
   27 CHEVROLET MONZA Alan Jones-Peter Brock GTP
   43 CHEVROLET GTP Gary Wonzer-Bill Bean GTP
   83 MARCH 83G Chevrolet GTP
   90 PORSCHE 935 GTP

Miami 1983 : the show comes to town

It was the first time that an IMSA race would take place on a street circuit, and certainly not the last. This event was to take place by the will of these two men: Ralph Sanchez and Phil Corey. Driving on such a track was certainly not an easy task, as you could find everything one could expect on a street circuit : slow corners, bumpy track, holes, narrow track or whatever else. It was not your dream racetrack but the promoters did the right thing to bring home a world class entry : $225200 was the total prize money so you could expect to find your dream field of racers and it proved true. As a result, the big entry list (92 cars) would not allow the entire field to race together and the three categories had to race separately. It was the first time it was to happen in IMSA history. Several Porsche 935 Turbos would have to fight against many GTPs that should be more easy to drive on this kind of track. A bunch of Lolas, Marches, Nimrods, Jaguars and one Mirage M12, a Grid and the Ford Mustang Turbos would provide a lot of racing action. The rest of the field was made up of local cars such as one Chevron B36 Buick, driven by Del Taylor, a Mazda GTP, driven by David Loring, a monstrous Corvette fitted with a V8 7,5L engine driven by Richard Valentine, a BMW 320 for Fomfor and a Pontiac Firebird driven by Vicki Smith, who had Gene Felton as co-driver. Vicki Smith would finally drive solo.
The Mirage M12 Ford driven by Tony Garcia and Albert Naon made its last appearance at Miami.

One extra factor would interfere in the course of the action as the weather would rapidly become quite rainy and shorten the race. 33 cars took the green and John Fitzpatrick took the lead but was soon to be overtaken by Al Holbert driving a March 83G at the end of lap one. He was rapidly overtaken by Danny Ongais(Lola T600 Chevrolet). Behind, Bob Wollek was ahead John Fitzpatrick, John Paul Jr and Danny Ongais. Soon, Wollek would close on Al Holbert but the rain would get stronger. A real storm would fall onto Miami. The race had fallen into some chaos as everyone would spin or hit another car. As giant streams of water flowed on the track, cars began to slow down and waited for the Pace Car to stop the race. Some drivers would then go back to the pits for a refueling, as they thought that the race would go on, but, as it turned out, the race would soon be stopped after a 10 laps procession and be red-flagged. Wollek, who was second, would regret his act as he got back in ninth position! The standings were to be what it was on the 17th lap. Al Holbert was the first winner of that ill-fated Grand Prix of Miami. Second place went to John Paul Jr and third to Klaus Ludwig on the Ford Mustang Turbo who did a great job on a little adapted car.

The GTO race went to Gene Felton, driving the Stratagraph Chevrolet Camaro. He took the win after Don Devendorf's retirement due to a drown ignition. Ludwig Heimrath took second place on his Porsche 934 and Robert Overby was third on a Chevrolet Camaro. The GTU race was the only one to be run under a dry weather and Roger Mandeville emerged as the winner of the race, he finished ahead Whitney Ganz whose Toyota Celica ran well on this track and Jack Dunham on a Mazda RX7. Promoters did lose a lot of money as this event was a completely disastrous one, but Ralph Sanchez had done a great job while promoting this race and the next years would be far more successful.