Welcome to the IMSA History unofficial website

This site is aimed at bringing you memories from the glory days of sportscar racing in the US.



The 24 Hours of Daytona were dominated by the Porsche 935 driven by Ted Field, Hurley Haywood and Danny Ongais. Many of the new Porsche 935s were fitted with single turbo engines. Second overall was the Ferrari 365GTB4 driven by John Morton and Tony Adamowicz, who easily won the GTO class. Rick Mears, Bruce Canepa and Monte Shelton took the third place with Don and Bill Whittington, co-driven by Jurgen Barth, in fourth position. The GTU class was won by the factory Mazda effort team of Yoshimi Katayama, Yojiro Terada and Takashi Yorino, with Walt Bohren, Jim Downing and Roger Mandeville taking the second place. It was the very first Mazda win, but many were to come.

Sebring was another Porsche sweep with Bob Akin, Rob McFarlin and Roy Woods winning the race in a Dick Barbour entered car. Charles Mendez, Brian Redman and Paul Miller were next, with Bob Garretson, Gary Belcher and Bob Bondurant coming in third. Bonky Fernandez, Tato Ferrer and Chiqui Soldevilla were the GTO winners in a Porsche Carrera RSR, followed by Horst Kroll and Rudy Bartling. The GTU class was won by Rusty Bond and Ren Tilton in a Porsche 911, followed by Jim Trueman, John Higgins and Chip Mead in another Porsche 911. The Mazda RX7s had been upgraded to the GTX thanks to their weight!

The Atlanta race would see Peter Gregg back in winning form, in his Porsche 935. Jim Busby, who had purchased a BMW 320 Tc, finished second, with Don Whittington behind him. Howard Meister won the GTO class in his Andial prepared Porsche Carrera RSR. Mauricio de Narvaez was second, and Carl Shafer third in an Oftedahl Chevrolet Camaro. Don Devendorf debuted his Datsun 280ZX, still in gelcoat. Sam Posey was second and Bob Bergstrom third in a Dave Kent prepared Mazda RX7.

The 6 Hours of Riverside were back in the schedule. Don and Bill Whittington were the most consistent, they won the race over John Paul and Al Holbert, with George Follmer, Derek Bell and Brett Lunger third in a Vasek Polak Porsche 935. David Cowart and Kenper Miller teamed up in a Porsche Carrera RSR to win the GTO class, after the Howard Meister-Rick Knoop car was led to retirement. Tony Garcia and Terry Herman were second. The GTU class win went to Don Devendorf and Tony Adamowicz, who were at the wheel of a new Datsun 280ZX. Bob Bergstrom and Brad Frisselle took second in a Mazda RX7, and Bill Koll-Bill Bean finished third in a Porsche 914/6.

Peter Gregg was back in winning form at Laguna Seca, with David Hobbs ending in second place, after passing Danny Ongais who finished in third place. The GTU race was a Datsun sweep. Don Devendorf won again after Sam Posey spun and lost the race. He finished second, with Frank Leary coming in third.

Hallett was lost to Porsche, with David Hobbs who collected his first victory of the season. Peter Gregg finished second with Don Whittington passing Gianpiero Moretti at the end. Howard Meister again took the GTO victory, with David Cowart second while Carl Shafer had to retire after 26 laps. Dennis Aase won the GTU race, beating Walt Bohren in a Mazda RX7 and Dave White who drove a very nice BMW 320i.

Lime Rock was the next venue. Peter Gregg enjoyed another overall victory, but David Hobbs finished second in a BMW 320 Tc which was very competitive. Charles Mendez was third. Sam Posey was awesome in GTU, starting from the back of the pack. He overtook everybody to pick up a nice victory. Don Devendorf and Jim Fitzgerald, both driving Datsun 280ZXs, finished second and third.

Brainerd was the next round. He was nearly unchallenged on this horsepower track, and won by a minute ovee David Hobbs in his BMW 320 Tc. Ted Field was third. Howard Meister again won the GTO class in his Porsche Carrera RSR, Tony de Lorenzo was a distant second while Phil Currin ended third, one lap down. Walt Bohren won the GTU class after Don Devendorf came into trouble. Bill Koll had a good run to finish second in his Porsche 914/6.

The Paul Revere race, held at Daytona, was a night race. Charles Mendez and Hurley Haywood won over Ted Field and Danny Ongais, who were one lap down. Peter Gregg had to stop to change a tire. In GTO, a fantastic end of race allowed Phil Currin to capture his first class win of the year over Jorge Cortes and Howard Meister. Don Devendorf led all the way the GTU class, but he had to hold off a challenge by Bob Bergstrom and Walt Bohren, who ended up second and third.

Peter Gregg and Hurley Haywood were back together for a new victory at Mid Ohio. They fought off a challenge from Don and Bill Whittington, who finished second overall. Third was the new BMW M1 driven hy Jim Busby and Dennis Aase, who had a steady race. Howard Meister and Alan Johnson won the GTO class, with Luis Mendez also driving a Porsche Carrera RSR in second place. Don Devendorf took the GTU class win in his Datsun 280ZX, while Walt Bohren was second in his Racing Beat Mazda RX7. Chip Mead and John Mortensen were third in a Porsche 911.

Peter Gregg won the next round at Sears Point, which was 18 turbo car strong. A high attrition race led Ted Field to second place, while Hurley Haywood finished third in a Vasek Polak entered Porsche 935. Howard Meister took another GTO class win in his Porsche Carrera RSR, Luis Mendez and Mauricio de Narvaez were next. Don Devendorf had a hard time with Yoshimi Katayama early in the race, but he finally won the race with Bob Bergstrom finally second at the finish.

The Portland race was again all Peter Gregg, ending up almost one lap ahead of Hurley Haywood and Bruce Canepa. Neil Shelton was the GTO winner, ahead of Phil Currin and Howard Meister. Don Devendorf was again the class of the GTU field, but Yoshimi Katayama had a great race and finished second, with Jeff Kline in third in another Mazda RX7.

The Lumbermens 6 Hour race was a unique event, with Sports racers challenging the usual GTX cars. Brian Redman and Bobby Rahal took the win in a Ralt, edging the Porsche 935 driven by Don and Bill Whittington by three laps, who took the series points. Mandy Gonzalez, Ulrich Lange and Tato Ferrer won the GTO class in a Porsche Carrera RSR.

At Road America, it was an upset victory for the BMW 320 Tc driven by David Hobbs and Derek Bell, who defeated the Porschevsquad. Charles Mendez and Paul Miller finished second, on the same lap. Ted Field and Milt Minter were behind. The Porsches also had to be content with a second place in GTO, as Bob Tullius and Brian Fuerstenau took the victory. Tony Garcia and Terry Herman were second. Bob Bergstrom and Rick Knoop took their first GTU victory in the Whitehall Mazda RX7. Roger Mandeville and Jim Downing were second whole Don Devendorf and Tony Adamowicz had a rare dnf.

It was Peter Gregg again at Road Atlanta, winning the race over John Paul and David Hobbs. Kenper Miller won the GTO class, beating Bob Tullius in his Triumph TR8 and Tony de Lorenzo. Don Devendorf was back to Victory Lane in GTU, but it was Paul Newman, who drove a new Datsun 280ZX entered by Bob Sharp, who took the second place. Jeff Kline was the best Mazda contender and took third.

The Daytona Finale was very strange, with heavy rains leading to a pile-up and a black flag. Bill Whittington won the race in a new Porsche 935K3 ahead of brother Don, with Charles Mendez and Brian Redman coming in third place. Mauricio de Narvaez won the GTO class in a Porsche Carrera RSR edging Carl Shafer in his Chevrolet Camaro. Don Devendorf ended up a fantastic season with another GTU win, Walt Bohren and Bob Bergstrom were second and third in their Mazda RX7.